My annoying habit of hoarding

Hoarding unwanted things MUST be an evolutionary thing. Otherwise I have no logical explanation for my need to hoard all kinds of things – from caps to nice empty bottles to pouches. I especially have a liking towards smaller things. Cute boxes, wrappings, ribbons and what not.

I look somewhat like this with all my unwanted, unused stuff.

My house is now filled with these random things. I see a ribbon and I think definitely will use that in the future, then it mostly sits in my drawer for years until I finally dig it out while looking for some really important item (which needless to say will not be found until a month later, while searching for something else!!!) . That’s why I said it must be evolutionary. It’s not something my parents or anybody taught me, its inborn and I can’t explain it.

I HAVE used some of these items later. They have come in handy surely. That envelope I saved a year ago was useful when I needed one and remembered it laying dormant at the back of my drawer. But mostly they just stay there taking up space. Maybe, I should try the Marie Kondo method or minimalism. But not now. Later, when I have gained the emotional maturity to part with all or at least some of my material possessions then I will try. For now I will live in peace, content in the knowledge that whatever I need during an emergency is probably safe in my drawer among a “pile of stuff”(As Meryl Streep said in The Devil Wears Prada) .

Published by salmagundisite

A wannabe writer

Leave a comment